Cup results last updated 12 Mar 2020 at 10:20:54 AM
  back to HomePage             Click HERE for THIS season's handicaps.                     click HERE for Divisional Cup Scoresheet.           click HERE for Handicap Cup Scoresheet.
                                   click HERE for LAST year's handicaps.
Cup Rules ONLY
You can ONLY play for ONE team per cup.   If you play for a team above your registered team, you are ONLY eligible to play for THAT team.  So, if you subsequently play for another team (including your registered team) IN THE SAME COMPETITION, any points you win will NOT count.

Handicap Tournament
Twenty-nine players entered the handicap tournament held at the Cheshunt Club on 9th January.  After a typical chaotic and enjoyable evening the last point was won just before midnight.  Despite both being heavily handicapped, current champion Chris Wade and Fred Burdett met in the final.  Chris defeated Ian Beaumont in his semi-final and Fred saved a match point in an earlier round against Dudu Soulieman and then overcame John Hughes in his semi-final.  Chris just won the first game 21-20 and then took the second to retain his title.
In the doubles, John Hughes capped a busy evening, winning the doubles for a second consecutive year, this time partnering Ian Beaumont to a straight sets victory over James Pugh and Jason Flaum.
My thanks to Jo' Swain for keeping everything running, Faith Frankel for the refreshments and everybody else that turned up, particularly those who volunteered/were pressganged into umpiring.

Divisional Cups
(Creasey Cup & Clifford Troll Trophy & MSD Trophy)

Divisional Cup matches are played in the 1st half of the season; the finals held at ASSC on Mon 3 Feb 2020.   Any queries, contact the match secretary.

Matches are played on a 'Round Robin' basis, each cup's teams divided into 2 pools.
The team in each pool with the highest number contest the final in December.
The number is the sets won, so if you win 5-4 you get 5 points & your opponents get 4.
If points are level after the end of matches, head to head results will count.

    Each game is the best of five sets.
    Each set is the best of 11 points; winning must be by 2 clear points.
    A total of nine wins is available from each match (6 singles, 3 doubles).
    Use this link to download/print scoresheets.

  The Creasey Cup is for Premier Div teams.
  The Clifford Troll Trophy is for Division One teams.
  The MSD Trophy is for Division Two teams.

Newsletter 5
An exciting finish in the final of the Premier Divison Cup Finals as Chris Wade & Sandy Nash beat Paul Butler & Sam Flaum in four sets to clinch a 5-4 victory.
The Division 2 final was not as close, the Stanstead Abbotts team of John Foley, Gareth Brown & Chris Bland beating Watton-at-Stone 8-1.

View Cup Pools

Calendar for Divisional Cups
w/c Mon September 16, 2019
Premier Div - Pool A   Grundy Park 1     8 v Grundy Park 2     1
Premier Div - Pool B   Allenburys 1     1 v HRC 1     8
Div One - Pool A   Peters Bros     2 v Allenburys 2     7
Div One - Pool B   St. Andrews 1     3 v PramaStars 1     6
Div Two - Pool B   Watton-at-Stone     7 v Furneux Pelham     2
w/c Mon October 14, 2019
Premier Div - Pool A   Cheshunt 1     0 v Grundy Park 1     9
Premier Div - Pool B   HRC 2     9 v Allenburys 1     0  
Div One - Pool A   Grundy Park 3 v Peters Bros  
Div One - Pool B   PramaStars 2     5 v St. Andrews 1     4
Div Two - Pool B   Aston     4 v Watton-at-Stone     5
w/c Mon November 11, 2019
Premier Div - Pool A   Grundy Park 2     7 v Cheshunt 1     2
Premier Div - Pool B   HRC 1     9 v HRC 2     0
Div One - Pool A   Allenburys 2 v Grundy Park 3  
Div One - Pool B   PramaStars 1     7 v PramaStars 2     2
Div Two - Pool A   St. Andrews 2     3 v Stanstead Abbotts PH     6
Div Two - Pool B   Furneux Pelham     4 v Aston     5
w/c Mon December 2, 2019
Clifford Troll Trophy   Allenburys 2     7 v PramaStars 1     2  
w/c Mon February 3, 2020
Creasey Cup   Grundy Park 1     4 v HRC 1     5
MSD Trophy   Watton-at-Stone     1 v Stanstead Abbotts PH     8
Divisional Cups Finals Night - at ASSC on Mon 3 Feb 2020
Handicap Cup
(Hertford Builders Trophy)

The Handicap competition is played in the second half of the season with the finals at ASSC on Mon 6 Apr 2020.   This gives the match secretary the first part of the season to see how everybody is getting on before setting the handicaps and waiting for the inevitable enquiries!

  The Handicap Cup will be played on a KnockOut basis.
  Each individual match is played to the best of 3 games.
  The winner of a game is the first to 21 points (i.e. NOT by 2 clear points).

At the time of lockdown, the Handicap Cup was building to an exciting semi-final stage.  Unfortunately, as with the League Tables, it has been decided that the fairest way is that the Handicap Cup is also abandoned, with no titles awarded.
We all hope the new season will be able to start in September.

Calendar for Handicap Cup
w/c Mon February 3, 2020
Preliminary Round   Grundy Park 3     1 v St. Andrews 1     8
w/c Mon February 17, 2020
Match 1   Furneux Pelham     4 v Watton-at-Stone     5
Match 2   St. Andrews 2     0 v Grundy Park 2     9
Match 3   St. Andrews 1     7 v Aston     2
Match 4   Stanstead Abbotts PH     4 v Allenburys 1     5
Match 5   Allenburys 2 v Peters Bros  
Match 6   PramaStars 2     5 v Grundy Park 1     4
Match 7   Cheshunt     5 v PramaStars 1     4
Match 8   HRC 1     5 v HRC 2     1  
Quarter-finals - w/c Mon March 2, 2020
Match 9   Watton-at-Stone     0 v Grundy Park 2     9
Game a   St. Andrews 1     1 v Allenburys 1     8
Game b   Allenburys 2     6 v PramaStars 2     3
Game c   Cheshunt v HRC 1
Semi-finals - w/c Mon March 16, 2020
Game d   Grundy Park 2 v Allenburys 1
Game e   Allenburys 2 v Match c Winner
Finals Night - w/c Mon April 6, 2020
  Match d winner v Match e winner
Handicap Cup Finals Night - at ASSC on Mon 6 Apr 2020

Handicaps for the 2019-20 season are available HERE.

You can download and print a new scoresheet using the appropriate link above but if you use an old scoresheet, please ensure the name and address at the bottom of the form is the current results secretary:

Colin Bullworthy
13 King Edward Road,
SG12 7EJ

back to HomePage